Podcast: Download (Duration: 1:08:10 — 31.2MB)
Tap That Mana is a podcast dedicated to teaching beginners the ins and outs of Magic: The Gathering. Join The Artifact Princess, Tangent, and Boston Massachusetts as they go over the MTG comprehensive rules guide and break it down for new players.
In this first episode the trio discusses Magic’s “Golden Rules” and breaks down card types.
Tangent’s Twitter: TangentDYN
Artifact Princess’s Twitter: APrinces4DYN
Boston’s E-mail: _LuMpY_
Your Host(s): Tangent, Boston, and
Princess
Show’s Email: tapthatmana@gmail.com
Hey thanks for the show,
keep it up!
Ronnym- Thank you very much! If you have any questions or ideas feel free to email us anytime!
🙂
Just some clarifications:
Tribal Sorcery — Elf doesn’t have a Sorcery subtype. Tribal gives the spell the Creature subtype of Elf, but it’s different from what would be a Sorcery – Elf. The way you worded it implied that all card types shared a subtype pool. The rules for the Tribal card type clarify this. I just wanted to make sure that distinction was clear, because one common misconception is that Wizards could have just printed cards like Sorcery — Elf, but linking the subtype pools between all card types breaks the game in many ways, thus Tribal has to exist as a card type.
For the following rule:
303.4d An Aura can’t enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. An Aura that’s also a creature can’t enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owner’s graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.)
The rule has nothing to do with the card an Aura is attached to being removed. What it means is, for example, if there is a Faith’s Fetters in play enchanting a creature, and a player casts Aura Graft on the Faith’s Fetters, the player can attach Faith’s Fetters to itself. This is a legal action because Faith’s Fetters says “Enchant permanent,” and at the time of casting Aura Graft Faith’s Fetters is a permanent. When this happens, Faith’s Fetters is trying to enchant itself, and because of this rule, instead of the card floating in play doing nothing it just goes to the graveyard.
If you regenerate a creature that has been dealt damage with Infect or Wither, it never actually regenerates at all. Regeneration creates a replacement effect for whenever a creature would be destroyed. Creatures with -1/-1 counters on them are “sent to the graveyard as a state-based effect” when they have 0 or less toughness. This isn’t the same as being destroyed. However, if there is a Cudgel Troll in play, and it has been dealt 2 damage that turn from a Pyroclasm, then it is blocked by a Plague Stinger, it can be regenerated. The Cudgel Troll will be a 3/2 with 2 damage marked on it, and thus is marked to be “destroyed” rather than being “sent to the graveyard,” and then you are able to Regenerate it, removing the 2 damage but not the -1/-1 counter. A single instance of an effect that destroys a creature can never cause a “loop” with Regeneration.
Keep up the good work! The network needs a show like this to keep going on.
Thanks a lot Ronnym! Glad you enjoyed the show!
Ultima- Great points and I appreciate the clarification. I used the Sorcery – Arcane example and wasn’t implying that Tribal Sorcery – Elf was a regular sorcery, but I do understand how that could have been confusing. It was more a way to get players to understand how the subtypes looked. I definitely can see how that would be confusing tho, and will clarify on the next show.
You made awesome points and I will definitely clarify them on the show. This show isn’t about me trying to be right about everything. It is about getting the correct info out there for all players to learn from. I appreciate your help!
PLEASE get around to making that next podcast, on how the whole stack thing works!! 🙂
Thank you very much for the podcast, I think it is going to be most helpful, and it was fun to listen to!
Arpeggio- Thank you so much for your support. We will be doing the next episode this weekend. 🙂
I am glad that you enjoyed the show!